Home

The Schedule for Holy Week and Easter 2019

Please join us for what is the single most important time for faithful Christians, The Great Week – The Holy Week, and enter into and experience the fullness of the traditional worship. The Reverend Kate Wesch will preside at all services.  The Reverend Emily Tanis-Likkel, UCC, and Minister of Family Life will preach at the Easter Vigil.

More information is available about all of these services here.

Palm Sunday / Sunday of the Passion, April 14, 8:00 a.m. and 10:15 a.m.

Blessing of the Palms and Holy Eucharist.

Wednesday of Holy Week, April 17, 6:30 p.m.
Stations of the Cross with guest painter and cellist.

Maundy Thursday, April 18, 6:30 p.m.
Holy Eucharist, Foot-Washing, Stripping of the Altar.

Watchnight, Thursday, April 18, 8:00 p.m. to Noon on Friday

Sign- up sheet in the Narthex. Gospel read aloud at 8:00 p.m..

Good Friday, April 19, 5:00 and 6:30 p.m.
5:00 pm, an interactive Stations of the Cross service for children and their families.
6:30 pm, Good Friday Liturgy

The Great Vigil of Easter, Saturday, April 20, 8:00 p.m. 
The Great Vigil of Easter with Holy Baptism, choir, and Holy Eucharist.  
A festive reception follows this service.

*Remember to bring bells! You are invited and encouraged to bring bells to the Easter Vigil. Ring them every time we sing, say or otherwise utter the word “Alleluia!”  

Easter Sunday, April, 8:00 a.m. and 10:15 a.m.
Festival Eucharist. Potluck Easter Brunch between services. 

Easter Egg Hunt, 11:45 a.m.

Come as you are! Explore-Connect-Share

Welcome to The Episcopal Church of St. John the Baptist. Our mission is to provide a vibrant space in which community can form to worship, grow in faith, and be challenged to respond to the needs of others in the community and in the world.

Statement of Welcome

St. John the Baptist Episcopal Church is an affirming and inclusive Christian community. Our members and leaders strive through love, worship and service to welcome all people just as God created them. No matter where you are on your journey of faith, our welcome knows no boundaries of age, race, ethnicity, culture, gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, physical or mental ability, or economic condition. We believe that God delights in the diversity of creation and so do we.

We strive to live into these words of our mission statement:

Living God’s Word encourages us to extend the lessons of compassion and love we learn in worship and study to our daily lives.  At the conclusion of every worship service we are sent into the world to be the human face of the Good News of Jesus’ love.

Loving God’s World reminds us of our responsibility to be good stewards of God’s blessings — to work for social justice in our community, country, economy, and world – to protect and preserve the environment – and to respect the dignity and freedom of every human being.

Growing in God’s Love calls us to mature in our faith.  We know that God loves each of us where and how we are.  This is our starting point.  We are co-creators with God and share God’s transformative love.

 

What's coming up

17
APR

Stations of the Cross

Date: 
Wednesday, April 17, 2019 6:30 PM - 7:00 PM
Nave

18
APR

Maundy Thursday Agape Meal

Date: 
Thursday, April 18, 2019 5:30 PM - 6:15 PM
Narthex

18
APR

Maundy Thursday Liturgy

Date: 
Thursday, April 18, 2019 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM
Nave

19
APR

Interactive Stations of the Cross for Children and Families

Date: 
Friday, April 19, 2019 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM

19
APR

Good Friday Liturgy & Sacrament of Reconciliation

Date: 
Friday, April 19, 2019 6:30 PM - 7:30 PM
Nave

20
APR

Holy Saturday Liturgy

Date: 
Saturday, April 20, 2019 12:00 PM

20
APR

Easter Vigil with Baptisms

Date: 
Saturday, April 20, 2019 8:00 PM - 9:00 PM

21
APR

Easter Potluck Brunch

Date: 
Sunday, April 21, 2019 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Parish Hall

21
APR

Easter Egg Hunt

Date: 
Sunday, April 21, 2019 11:45 AM - 12:45 PM

23
APR

Arts and Crafts Co-Op

Date: 
Tuesday, April 23, 2019 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

28
APR

Spiritual Gifts

Date: 
Sunday, April 28, 2019 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM
Layne Bautista

30
APR

Arts and Crafts Co-Op

Date: 
Tuesday, April 30, 2019 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

04
MAY

Joint Scout Troup 284 and SJB Rummage Sale

Date: 
Saturday, May 4, 2019 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Andrea O'Ferrall

05
MAY

Spiritual Gifts

Date: 
Sunday, May 5, 2019 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM
Layne Bautista

05
MAY

Youth Meeting: Cinco De Mayo

Date: 
Sunday, May 5, 2019 11:30 AM - 12:30 PM

07
MAY

The Lord's Table

Date: 
Tuesday, May 7, 2019 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Kitchen

07
MAY

Arts and Crafts Co-Op

Date: 
Tuesday, May 7, 2019 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

12
MAY

How2charist

Date: 
Sunday, May 12, 2019 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

14
MAY

Arts and Crafts Co-Op

Date: 
Tuesday, May 14, 2019 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

19
MAY

How2charist

Date: 
Sunday, May 19, 2019 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

19
MAY

Newcomer Event

Date: 
Sunday, May 19, 2019 5:00 PM - 6:30 PM
California Avenue Southwest 3050, 98116 Seattle, United States

21
MAY

Arts and Crafts Co-Op

Date: 
Tuesday, May 21, 2019 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

26
MAY

How2charist

Date: 
Sunday, May 26, 2019 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

28
MAY

Arts and Crafts Co-Op

Date: 
Tuesday, May 28, 2019 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

01
JUN

EarthCorps Volunteer Event

Date: 
Saturday, June 1, 2019 10:00 AM
Terminal 105 Duwamish River
Andrea O'Ferrall

02
JUN

How2charist

Date: 
Sunday, June 2, 2019 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

02
JUN

Youth Meeting

Date: 
Sunday, June 2, 2019 11:30 AM - 1:00 PM
Youth Room

04
JUN

Arts and Crafts Co-Op

Date: 
Tuesday, June 4, 2019 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

08
JUN

White Center Welcome Table Meal

Date: 
Saturday, June 8, 2019 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM
15th Avenue Southwest 9600, 98106 Seattle, United States
Sharon Parker and Carol Long

09
JUN

Service/Outreach Team

Date: 
Sunday, June 9, 2019 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM
Parish Hall

11
JUN

Arts and Crafts Co-Op

Date: 
Tuesday, June 11, 2019 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

18
JUN

Arts and Crafts Co-Op

Date: 
Tuesday, June 18, 2019 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

25
JUN

Arts and Crafts Co-Op

Date: 
Tuesday, June 25, 2019 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

30
JUN

T.S. Eliot, Anglican Poet?

Date: 
Sunday, June 30, 2019 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM
Kari Glover

02
JUL

The Lord's Table

Date: 
Tuesday, July 2, 2019 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Kitchen

02
JUL

Arts and Crafts Co-Op

Date: 
Tuesday, July 2, 2019 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

09
JUL

Arts and Crafts Co-Op

Date: 
Tuesday, July 9, 2019 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

16
JUL

Arts and Crafts Co-Op

Date: 
Tuesday, July 16, 2019 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

23
JUL

Arts and Crafts Co-Op

Date: 
Tuesday, July 23, 2019 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

30
JUL

Arts and Crafts Co-Op

Date: 
Tuesday, July 30, 2019 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

06
AUG

Arts and Crafts Co-Op

Date: 
Tuesday, August 6, 2019 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

10
AUG

White Center Welcome Table Meal

Date: 
Saturday, August 10, 2019 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM
15th Avenue Southwest 9600, 98106 Seattle, United States
Sharon Parker and Carol Long

13
AUG

Arts and Crafts Co-Op

Date: 
Tuesday, August 13, 2019 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

20
AUG

Arts and Crafts Co-Op

Date: 
Tuesday, August 20, 2019 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

27
AUG

Arts and Crafts Co-Op

Date: 
Tuesday, August 27, 2019 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

03
SEP

The Lord's Table

Date: 
Tuesday, September 3, 2019 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Kitchen

03
SEP

Arts and Crafts Co-Op

Date: 
Tuesday, September 3, 2019 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

10
SEP

Arts and Crafts Co-Op

Date: 
Tuesday, September 10, 2019 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

17
SEP

Arts and Crafts Co-Op

Date: 
Tuesday, September 17, 2019 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

24
SEP

Arts and Crafts Co-Op

Date: 
Tuesday, September 24, 2019 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

01
OCT

Arts and Crafts Co-Op

Date: 
Tuesday, October 1, 2019 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

08
OCT

Arts and Crafts Co-Op

Date: 
Tuesday, October 8, 2019 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

12
OCT

White Center Welcome Table Meal

Date: 
Saturday, October 12, 2019 11:30 AM - 2:00 PM
15th Avenue Southwest 9600, 98106 Seattle, United States
Sharon Parker and Carol Long

15
OCT

Arts and Crafts Co-Op

Date: 
Tuesday, October 15, 2019 5:00 PM - 8:00 PM

05
NOV

The Lord's Table

Date: 
Tuesday, November 5, 2019 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Kitchen

07
JAN

The Lord's Table

Date: 
Tuesday, January 7, 2020 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Kitchen

03
MAR

The Lord's Table

Date: 
Tuesday, March 3, 2020 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Kitchen

05
MAY

The Lord's Table

Date: 
Tuesday, May 5, 2020 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Kitchen

07
JUL

The Lord's Table

Date: 
Tuesday, July 7, 2020 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Kitchen

01
SEP

The Lord's Table

Date: 
Tuesday, September 1, 2020 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Kitchen

03
NOV

The Lord's Table

Date: 
Tuesday, November 3, 2020 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM
Kitchen