So what is adult formation anyway?

What is spiritual formation and why is it important in my life? Why should we care? Why should we come?

Spiritual formation is the patterning and structuring of our character into the image and likeness of God. That doesn’t require us to become strange, holy people who pray constantly; rather, it is living into holy habits or spiritual disciplines that allow us to be and become that person God hoped for us at our creation. It is the art and practice of knowing ourselves as God knows us, of being and becoming that full, whole, complete, and healthy person God longs for us to be. This is the Good News!

The offerings this program year provide some tools through which to realign our relationship to God. Some of the courses are theological, others informational, and still others more practical in nature. All seek to build community, for in the kingdom of God, relationships are primary and all else is derivative.

My hope is that we begin to consider Sunday mornings at St. John’s as both a chance to praise God and a chance to study God in that place where our curiosities and desires meet. Our Adults’ Forums run from 9:15–10:00 a.m. every Sunday morning. We will always have childcare for infants, toddlers, and children (PreK–5th grade) in the Nursery. Please take the time to review these offerings and consider how they might enhance your spiritual journey.

Blessings,

Kate +

Upcoming Classes

28
JUL

Wresting with The Word

Date: 
Sunday, July 28, 2019 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM
Mary McGuire and Molly Carson

04
AUG

Two Feet of Social Justice With The Church Council of Greater Seattle

Date: 
Sunday, August 4, 2019 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM
Michael Ramos, Executive Director

11
AUG

Wresting with The Word

Date: 
Sunday, August 11, 2019 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

18
AUG

Wresting with The Word

Date: 
Sunday, August 18, 2019 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

24
AUG

Lector and Eucharistic Minister Training

Date: 
Saturday, August 24, 2019 9:00 AM - 10:00 AM
Katie Bucy

25
AUG

Catechesis of the Good Shepherd

Date: 
Sunday, August 25, 2019 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

28
AUG

Fraud Prevention Program

Date: 
Wednesday, August 28, 2019 6:45 PM - 7:45 PM
Parish Hall

15
SEP

The Path: Creation

Date: 
Sunday, September 15, 2019 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

22
SEP

The Path: The Covenant

Date: 
Sunday, September 22, 2019 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

29
SEP

The Path: Ancestor of a Multitude: Abram's Call

Date: 
Sunday, September 29, 2019 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

06
OCT

The Path: Joseph Had a Dream

Date: 
Sunday, October 6, 2019 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

13
OCT

The Path: Moses

Date: 
Sunday, October 13, 2019 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

20
OCT

The Path: Fleeing Egypt/Wilderness/10 Commandments

Date: 
Sunday, October 20, 2019 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

27
OCT

The Path: Jericho

Date: 
Sunday, October 27, 2019 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

03
NOV

The Path: Judges

Date: 
Sunday, November 3, 2019 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

10
NOV

The Path: Naomi, Ruth, Calling of Samuel

Date: 
Sunday, November 10, 2019 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

17
NOV

The Path: Samuel to Saul as King

Date: 
Sunday, November 17, 2019 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

24
NOV

The Path: David and Goliath, David Brings Ark to Jerusalem

Date: 
Sunday, November 24, 2019 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

05
JAN

The Path: Solomon Builds the Temple

Date: 
Sunday, January 5, 2020 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

12
JAN

The Path: God Calls the Prophets: Elijah, Isaiah, Jeremiah

Date: 
Sunday, January 12, 2020 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

19
JAN

The Path: Daniel and the Lion

Date: 
Sunday, January 19, 2020 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

02
FEB

The Path: Temple Rebuilt/Book of the Law

Date: 
Sunday, February 2, 2020 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

19
APR

The Path: Birth of Christ

Date: 
Sunday, April 19, 2020 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

26
APR

The Path: Baptism of Jesus, Jesus' Ministry, Call of the Disciples, Sermon on the Mount

Date: 
Sunday, April 26, 2020 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

03
MAY

The Path: Healing, Kingdom of God, Miracles, Transformation

Date: 
Sunday, May 3, 2020 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

10
MAY

The Path: Palm Sunday, Parables, Anointing, Last Supper, Gesthemane, Good Friday, Crucifixion

Date: 
Sunday, May 10, 2020 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

17
MAY

The Path: Resurrection, Emmaus, Post-Resurrection, Ascension

Date: 
Sunday, May 17, 2020 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

24
MAY

The Path: Acts

Date: 
Sunday, May 24, 2020 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

31
MAY

The Path: Paul's Letters and Ministry

Date: 
Sunday, May 31, 2020 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

07
JUN

The Path: James and Hebrews

Date: 
Sunday, June 7, 2020 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM

14
JUN

The Path: Revelation

Date: 
Sunday, June 14, 2020 9:15 AM - 10:00 AM
Image credits: