Sermons | St. John the Baptist Episcopal Church

Sermons

To listen to recent sermons, go to links below.

Published by Kate Wesch on Mon, Nov 11, 2019 8:14 AM
Sermons

Published by Kate Wesch on Mon, Nov 4, 2019 6:51 AM
Sermons

Published by Kate Wesch on Mon, Oct 28, 2019 12:52 PM
Sermons

"Shameless" by The Rev. Emily Tanis-Likkel, UCC

Joshua 2:1-24

I teach middle school health classes.  For many of th...

Published by Kate Wesch on Mon, Oct 21, 2019 4:11 PM
Sermons

Published by Kate Wesch on Mon, Oct 14, 2019 10:08 AM
Sermons

Published by Kate Wesch on Mon, Oct 7, 2019 10:58 AM
Sermons

Published by Kate Wesch on Mon, Sep 30, 2019 11:14 AM
Sermons

Published by Kate Wesch on Mon, Sep 23, 2019 11:19 AM
Sermons

Text: Genesis 4:1-16

Works Cited:

Sacks, Jonathan. Not in God's Name. Schocken Books, 2015....

Published by Kate Wesch on Sun, Sep 15, 2019 8:30 PM
Sermons

Text: Genesis 3:1-24

Works Cited: 

Gafney, Wilda C.. Womanist Midrash: A Reintroduction to the Women of the Torah and the Throne (p. 15). Presbyte...

Published by Kate Wesch on Mon, Sep 9, 2019 1:05 PM
Sermons

Published by Kate Wesch on Mon, Sep 2, 2019 8:31 AM
Sermons

Published by Kate Wesch on Mon, Aug 26, 2019 10:47 AM
Sermons

Published by Kate Wesch on Tue, Aug 20, 2019 2:53 PM
Sermons

Published by Kate Wesch on Mon, Aug 12, 2019 11:27 AM
Sermons

Published by Kate Wesch on Wed, Aug 7, 2019 6:57 AM
Sermons



Luke 12:13-21

 May God's Word be spoken. May God's Word be heard. May that point us to the living Word who is Jes...

Published by Kate Wesch on Tue, Jul 30, 2019 2:07 PM
Sermons

Published by Kate Wesch on Tue, Jul 30, 2019 2:02 PM
Sermons

Published by Kate Wesch on Thu, Jul 18, 2019 8:08 AM
Sermons

Published by Kate Wesch on Mon, Jul 8, 2019 8:25 AM
Sermons

Published by Kate Wesch on Tue, Jul 2, 2019 7:50 PM
Sermons

Published by Kate Wesch on Mon, Jun 24, 2019 10:28 AM
Sermons

Today's sermon is offered by graduating high school senior, Jackson Espeut. 

Published by Kate Wesch on Mon, Jun 17, 2019 7:45 AM
Sermons

Published by Kate Wesch on Sun, Jun 9, 2019 6:13 AM
Sermons


In what ways have you encountered the divine? More specifically this day, I wonder, how do you experience the Holy Spirit in ways both large and small? I’ve been asking this q...

Published by Kate Wesch on Sat, Jun 1, 2019 1:48 PM
Sermons


Blessing the Distance, by Jan Richardson

While he was blessing them, he withdrew from them and was carried up into heaven. —Luke 24:51&nb...

Published by Kate Wesch on Sat, May 25, 2019 5:41 AM
Sermons



St. Augustine of Hippo once said long ago, “he who sings, prays twice.” Maybe that rings true for you. Making music or listening to music is a form of prayer in and of its...

Published by Kate Wesch on Sun, May 19, 2019 5:56 AM
Sermons

This sermon is about smashing barriers, de-constructing borders, and following the Spirit where she leads as she pushes the church and individuals into greater and widening pr...

Published by Kate Wesch on Fri, May 10, 2019 11:17 AM
Sermons

Click here to listen to this week's sermon on Soundcloud.

Miracles are signs which demonstrate God’s power. They are gu...

Published by Kate Wesch on Thu, May 2, 2019 7:55 AM
Sermons

Click here to listen to this week's sermon on Soundcloud.

On Easter morning, while we were in this space praying and refl...

Published by Kate Wesch on Mon, Apr 29, 2019 1:03 PM
Sermons

Click here to listen to The Very Rev. Peter DeVeau's sermon from the Second Sunday of Easter.

Published by Emily Tanis-Likkel on Sat, Apr 20, 2019 4:48 PM
Sermons

Click here to listen to The Rev. Emily Tanis Likkel's sermon for the Easter Vigil.

Life bursts f...

Published by Kate Wesch on Sat, Apr 20, 2019 4:18 PM
Sermons

Click here to listen to the Easter Day sermon.


John 20: 1-18

Happy Easter! Alleluia, Christ is Risen! The Lord is Risen ...

Published by Kate Wesch on Fri, Apr 19, 2019 2:30 PM
Sermons

Click here to listen to the Good Friday sermon on Soundcloud.

John 18:1-19:42

  

On Good Friday the rulin...

Published by Kate Wesch on Thu, Apr 18, 2019 2:35 PM
Sermons

Click here to listen to the sermon on Soundcloud.

John 13: 1-17

 

Where do we locate ourselves in this story of Jesus washing t...

Published by Kate Wesch on Sun, Apr 14, 2019 5:54 AM
Sermons

Click here to listen the Palm Sunday sermon on Soundcloud. 

Jesus’ journey this week takes us from Bethany, from the ...

Published by Kate Wesch on Thu, Apr 4, 2019 2:12 PM
Sermons

Click here to listen to this week's sermon on Soundcloud.

This morning, I’m going to tell you a love story. It’s ab...

Published by Kate Wesch on Thu, Mar 28, 2019 4:08 PM
Sermons

Click here to listen to this week's sermon on Soundcloud.

Last Sunday was pretty spectacular around here. The pews were packed...

Published by Kate Wesch on Mon, Mar 25, 2019 6:07 PM
Sermons

Click here to listen to Bishop Rickel's sermon from March 24, 2019.

Published by Kate Wesch on Fri, Mar 15, 2019 1:48 PM
Sermons

Click here to listen to this week's sermon on Soundcloud.


The Lord is my light and my salvation; ...

Published by Kate Wesch on Thu, Mar 7, 2019 1:58 PM
Sermons

Click here to listen to the Ash Wednesday sermon.

Published by Kate Wesch on Thu, Mar 7, 2019 1:56 PM
Sermons

Click here to listen to this week's sermon on Soundcloud.

So much of living is about learning to let go. It is acceptin...

Published by Kate Wesch on Thu, Feb 28, 2019 11:18 AM
Sermons

Click here to listen to this week's sermon on Soundcloud.


What weighs you down? 

            What clouds ...

Published by Kate Wesch on Sat, Feb 23, 2019 10:27 AM
Sermons

Click here to listen to this week's sermon on Soundcloud. 

This sermon is about betrayal, transformation, forgiveness,...

Published by Kate Wesch on Fri, Feb 15, 2019 1:55 PM
Sermons

Click here to listen to this week's sermon on Soundcloud.

Who is feeling glad to have things a little bit more back to no...

Published by Kate Wesch on Thu, Jan 31, 2019 11:24 AM
Sermons

Click here to listen to this week's sermon on Soundcloud.

“Holy Befold.” That’s right. Instead of, “lo and b...

Published by Kate Wesch on Thu, Jan 24, 2019 11:59 AM
Sermons

Click here to listen to this week's sermon on Soundcloud.

The apostle Paul famously wrote about the church as a body, u...

Published by Kate Wesch on Fri, Jan 18, 2019 1:09 PM
Sermons

Click here to listen to this week's sermon on Soundcloud.

This is a tough time of year in Seattle. The days are short. Th...

Published by Kate Wesch on Thu, Jan 10, 2019 11:51 AM
Sermons

Click here to listen to this week's sermon on Soundcloud. 

C.S. Lewis once wrote that “Joy is the serious business...

Published by Kate Wesch on Thu, Jan 3, 2019 11:09 AM
Sermons

Click hereto listen to this week's sermon on Soundcloud.

The Feast of Epiphany is all about mystery.It’s about mystery...

Published by Kate Wesch on Mon, Dec 31, 2018 11:39 AM
Sermons

Click here to listen to this week's sermon on Soundcloud. 

Merry Christmas! On this, the sixth day of Christmas, the season i...

Published by Kate Wesch on Tue, Dec 25, 2018 9:20 PM
Sermons

Click here to listen to the Christmas Eve sermon on Soundcloud. 

Merry Christmas! Everyone take a deep breath wi...

Image credits: